Harris County

Democratic Legislative Delegation

c/o The Honorable Senfronia Thompson 4828 Loop Central Drive, Suite 600 Houston, Texas 77081 713.651.9353

March 18, 2020

The Honorable Kim Ogg Harris County District Attorney 500 Jefferson Street Houston, Texas 77002

The Honorable Vince Ryan Harris County Attorney 1019 Congress, 15th Floor Houston, Texas 77002

Dear Ms. Ogg and Mr. Ryan:

We write to request your offices to investigate a serious case of election fraud that appears to have been perpetrated during the March 3rd Democratic Primary election for Texas House District 142.

We are concerned that more than 2500 Harris County voters may have been duped into voting for a non-existent candidate, a serious theft of those voters' most important right, and three legitimate candidates were harmed by the crimes committed.

We have attached a memorandum based on our preliminary inquiry into events that resulted in a sham "candidate" being on the ballot. These facts make it clear that serious election fraud has occurred, potentially by the coordinated efforts of more than one person. Not only were more than 2500 voters defrauded, three legitimate candidates put themselves before the voters, campaigned hard and followed the rules. It is unfair to them, their supporters and the general public to allow this fraud to go unanswered.

This fraud could have been perpetrated against the voters of any political party, and against any legitimate candidate, anywhere in Texas.

For that reason, these crimes must be thoroughly investigated and the perpetrator prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law, so that anyone who considers doing so in the future will understand their risk of prosecution.

The Honorable Kim Ogg The Honorable Vince Ryan March 18, 2020 Page 2

We request that your offices coordinate an immediate investigation into the events documented in the attached memo and take appropriate prosecutorial action at the earliest possible time.

Sincerely,*

Members of the Texas House of Representatives

Representative Senfronia Thompson	Representative Garnet Coleman
Representative Alma Allen	Representative Ana Hernandez
Representative Hubert Vo	Representative Gene Wu
Representative Gina Calanni	Representative Armando Walle
Representative Shawn Thierry	Representative Jarvis Johnson
Representative Mary Ann Perez	Representative Jon Rosenthal
Representative Anna Eastman	Representative Christina Morales

Members of the Texas Senate

State Senator John Whitmire, Dean of the Texas Senate

State Senator Borris Miles

State Senator Carol Alvarado

^{*} Each member of the Harris County Democratic Legislative Delegation listed above has authorized the use of their name in making this request.